Halton has a new Member of the Youth Parliament after young people voted in elections organised by Halton Borough Council.

Ewan Jago, aged 14, from Runcorn, a student at Ormiston Bolingbroke Academy, takes over the role after seeing off stiff competition from other five other candidates in this year’s elections. He got 29 per cent of the vote.

His manifesto included a focus on sport and leisure and a call for 16 year olds to be the given the right to vote in UK elections, takes over from Thomas Norris who is stepping down on reaching the age of 19.

Ewan was officially named as Halton’s new MYP at an event at CRMZ, Kingsway, Widnes on Friday 31 March. He will represent Halton’s 12,000+ young people aged 11-18 at the UK Youth Parliament as well as working on local issues and developing his own campaigns.

He said: “I want to thank everyone who voted for me and pledge I will do my best to speak up for the interests of young people in the area. Please don’t hesitate to contact me if you have anything you want to bring to my attention.”

The event also saw Thomas Norris reflecting on his year in office in an emotional speech and Halton Youth Cabinet presenting its first round of School Participation and Democracy Awards, in the presence of Halton Borough Council Chief Executive David Parr.

The Awards are presented to schools demonstrating that they meet criteria around the teaching about democracy and seeking to involve their students in youth voice and participation opportunities.

Schools picking up awards at the event were Ashley School, Cavendish School and The Heath School. It is hoped that the Awards become a regular fixture in the Youth Cabinet calendar and that all schools in Halton go on to achieve the Award. For more information about the Awards check out Halton Youth Cabinet’s website www.haltonYC.com.

For more information about UK Youth Parliament in Halton or Halton Youth Cabinet, please do no hesitate to get in touch.,Ewan is contactable via Ewan.Jago@haltonyc.com.