A Halton school has won a prize for participation and behaviour and activities carried out for the pupils in the school for the Junior Safety Officer scheme.

The award was presented to four pupils from Oakfield Primary School George Hughes-Metcalf, Harriett Hughes, Sky Dunn and Joel Barnett won the Officers of the Year award.

Organisers from Halton Borough Council say this was a fantastic achievement as all 49 primary schools in the borough took part in the scheme.

The award recognises their enthusiasm and hard work in promoting road, community, personal and fire safety messages both within their school and the wider community throughout the past year.

Halton Borough Council’s Executive Board Member for Transportation, Cllr Stan Hill, said: “The scheme incorporates various safety messages and the officers lead assemblies, run sessions on during lunchtime and run competitions throughout the year to re-enforce the safety messages.

They are responsible for setting a good example of good safety to all the other pupils. “

Young people received a personal trophy and certificate each.

The children were delighted to receive the Shield for the school and their individual trophies.